Yoko Ogawa – three works

Yoko Ogawa’s writing topics are so diverse.

The Housekeeper and the Professor (2003) is a touching story of a professor who loves mathematics but can retain 80 minutes of memory only, and his friendship with and his influence on the housekeeper and her teenage son.

Hotel Iris (1996) is an unsettling novella of a sadomasochistic relationship between a young girl and a middle aged man. It’s not for the faint of heart.

The Diving Pool (1991) is a collection of three eerie and strange short novellas about obsession, love and pregnancy.

Whatever her subject matter is, Ogawa’s writing is exquisite, suspenseful, and darkly humorous.

I’m looking forward to reading her upcoming translated novel The Memory Police, out on Aug 13.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s